Staying Catholic

I was raised in the catholic church. My brother was an alter server, my mom taught CCD classes, my dad was in the men’s group and I sang in the choir on holidays. Our parish was like a second home to me.
Like most Catholics, I began to question my faith in high school. I never really had a relationship with Jesus. I stopped going to Mass and began hiding from the church. I would tell my parents I was going to a different church service and then I would go sit in some random parking lot and read a magazine for an hour. A small lie, but a way to hide.
When I started college, I tried to start going again but it didn’t last. Until I met this guy. He was Catholic too. We became friends and one Sunday I bumped into him in the hallway. “I’m on my way to church.” he said. I knew I had to go. Not for him but for me.
It was our first date. I’ve not been the most faithful catholic since then but I’ve gotten better. I’m still working on my relationship with Jesus. And the guy? We’ve been married for 11 years and I’ll always be grateful to him.

 

One thought on “Staying Catholic

  1. johnprejean

    It’s a journey that I describe as “never ending.” I too continue to work on my relationship with Christ. Do I fail at times? You bet I do, sometimes more than I’d like to but I get up, knock the dust off and tell him I’m sorry (confession) and I move forward. Our faith is Awesome and you are doing your part in The New Evangelization by telling your story, sharing what you feel and what you learn and that is what we need. Blessings to you sister for all that you do and continue to do and may God bless you, your husband and your family.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

