Delayed Contact

I was actually thinking about this the other day. What if I met my husband today? Would we still get married? Would we still even be friends? When you meet someone at a certain point in your life, that is the perspective you have. It changes as you experience life and grow into yourself.

I think I would still be attracted to him but for different reasons.We are both different people than when we met sixteen years ago. We were babies in college, having fun. We shared interests, classes and friends. Now we share a car, a house and two kids. Responsibility and day to day life connects us rather than fun and dreams of the future. That is what I liked about him the most. His dreams.  We stopped dreaming because God has blessed us with most of those dreams and we can’t afford the rest.

Years ago, I was sure of who I was and what I wanted to do. Now, I’m floundering in a role that I thought I wanted. I want more but am unsure of how to change. I feel if I did change then I would be changing the people around me. My husband is struggling but succeeding at the exact thing he wanted to do. Are we both so changed that we can’t find who we were? Do we want to? We talk about how we’d like the carefree aspect of college back. But we can’t go back. We can’t remake ourselves into the people we were. We can only grow and start dreaming again.

Motivating Quotes - Best Motivational Quotes - Woman's Day

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/delayed-contact/

Leave a Reply

